Hello from Southern CO

edited August 2016 in Introduce yourself

Hi all,

I am a semiconductor electrical engineer and am married to a computer scientist. We’ve got great credit, (didn’t let that go while un-employed,) a 6mo+ nestegg, an on-target 401k and a few college savings plans, and no debt besides mortgage debt (on 2 houses). We’ve got 3 out of 4 kids out on their own, so not yet empty-nesters. I’ve got 1 rental house and 1 personal house.

I bought a personal home in ’00, turned it into a rental when I moved out of state in ‘08 because the current housing sales prices were a down and falling in that area. Sales have been sluggish in Albuquerque, since I moved, so I’m still renting it. I contemplated refinancing it since it was at 7%, but once it became an investment property, financing was much less attractive. I decided to dump what funds I would have spent on closing costs into it instead and am targeting a payoff date Q2 of 2017. I’m very excited about that, despite delays due to spotty income.

For the rental upkeep, I’ve had to replace my plumber since he retired, but am satisfied with the old plumbers referral, and I’m trying a new handyman out this week, we’ll see how that goes. It’s difficult managing this long distance, but currently I’ve got some great tenants that are return clients: 3 ministers in the “vicarage” who I’ve incentivized to stay by offering a rate below market.